Houston Bike Share Logo

Houston Bike Share (HBS) is the nonprofit that administers the bike sharing program for the City of Houston as the operator of Houston BCycle. The City of Houston first issued a bike share RFP in 2011. Upon selecting BCycle as the initial vendor, Houston Bike Share was formed as a 501(c)(3) to operate, grow and maintain the Houston BCycle program. Since then, Houston Bike Share has been the exclusive operator of the city's bike share system, growing the program from 3 stations and 18 bikes to 51 stations and 400 bikes across central Houston. Houston Bike Share’s mission is “To provide equitable access to bike share that fosters recreation, mobility and personal wellness.”

Houston Bike Share's BCycle program was initially funded through the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's Climate Showcase grant. The program was expanded with the support of a Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Texas sponsorship and through the U.S. Department of Energy's American Recovery and Reinvestment Act stimulus dollars. The current program is partially funded through a U.S. Department of Transportation's Federal-Aid Highway Program grant, and with the support of CHI St. Luke's Health and Bike Houston sponsorship.

HBS continues to work in partnership with the City - and closely with local management districts and community stakeholders - to grow the bike share network, increasing ridership and improving infrastructure. HBS is currently undergoing an expansion effort with a goal for 60+ stations and 500+ bikes for 2018.

Meet the Team

Houston Bike Share Staff

Beth Martin - Executive Director
Doogie Roux - Director of Operations
Christin Dietze - Director of Marketing & Communications
Henry Morris - Marketing & Communications Manager
Rhiannon Ferguson - Office Manager
Gilbert Cedillo - Customer Service
Dean Catania - Lead Field Tech
Thomas Epling - Lead Mechanic
Dave Guitierrez - Mechanic
Jeremiah Sanchez - Mechanic
Tony Banks - Field Tech
Amir Chowdury - Field Tech
Francisco Montes - Field Tech
Chris Rico - Field Tech

Board of Directors

Neil Bremner - President

Paul Sorelle - Secretary ​

Amir Befroui - Board Member

Chris Dray - Board Member

Maya Ford - Board Member

Clint Harbert - Board Member

James Koski - Board Member

James Llamas - Board Member

Michele Nezi Martin - Board Member

Michael Skelly - Board Member